Choose Wisely

It’s the New Year and most people have health & wellness goals. If you know me at all, you know that I am passionate about helping people to prevent and reverse chronic lifestyle diseases. So, I think that is GREAT that people want to improve their health!

However, I have been seeing a lot of misinformation/promotion of things that, quite frankly, I would not touch with a long stick or give to my children. So, I am going to get on my soap box for just a moment.

Just keep a few things in mind…

  • Quick fixes generally don’t work.
  • Make lifestyle changes that you can stick with for the LONG-TERM.
  • Not all supplement companies are created equal. Do your research and choose wisely. How long has company been around? What kind of testing do they do? Do they have QUALITY studies to back up what they are saying? What about product recalls? Where do they source their ingredients?
  • Low-fat, fat-free, 100-calorie pack, etc… doesn’t mean it’s good for you. These are marketing tools.
  • Don’t believe everything you read or hear. There are many supposed “experts” out there.
  • Just because there was a “study” does not mean that it is gospel truth. Anyone these days can do a “study.” You need to ask yourself if it was a quality study. Was it double, blind? Was it done over a long period of time? Was it published in a QUALITY journal?

I know I am usually very upbeat and positive, but I want to make sure people are receiving all of the information. Also, I am not trying to say that I know everything. I just want you to do your own research. End of soap box.

I am happy to chat with you if you have questions. Do you feel overwhelmed by the amount of health/wellness information out there?

facebook1

 

 

Leave a Reply

