2017 Goals – Part 1

Hello! I hope you all had a wonderful time celebrating with your families! We still have one more celebration on Saturday!

blog14

blog15.jpg

As we head into the last week of 2016, many people will be reflecting on the past year and making goals for the year ahead, myself included. I think we all know that most people don’t keep “New Years Resolutions.” I prefer goals. Resolutions… it seems like if you break it’s over. For example, maybe your resolution is to stop drinking pop, but on January 5, you have a pop, so you say… “Well, I broke my resolution, so I will just go back to drinking pop every day.”

Ss I make my goals for 2017, I am going to keep a few things in mind…

  • Are they S.M.A.R.T goals? (Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely)
  • How am I going to make it happen? Last year one of my goals was to not always be worried about what other people were thinking of me. However, I had no plan for exactly how I was going to tackle that. It is still a struggle for me, but it is one of my goals for 2017… more on that later.
  • Why does this matter to me? What is my motivation? Back to my example of worrying… I know I must please God rather than men. Worrying about what others think of me steals my JOY. I cannot control what other people think, say, or how they act. I can control how I treat others, so if I focus on treating others in a way that pleases God, then I know I am pleasing to my loving Savior!
  • Break your goals up into smaller chunks. (Ex. If you want to lose 100 pounds, make it your goal to lose 8-10 pounds in January).
  • Accountability! Tell at least one person about your goals and ask them to check in with you! Join a healthy challenge group! Choose a group that is in it for the long haul – lifestyle change over crazy diets.
  • A partner! Maybe there is someone who has one of the same goals that you do. Maybe you have Bible study goals like me. Perhaps, you and I could both study __________ and check in with each other once a week regarding what we learned.  It doesn’t have to be a face to face meeting… it could be via phone or even e-mail. Personally, I do much better when I have time to compose my thoughts in writing.
  • A, B, and C goals – When I set a goal for a race, I make 3 goals.
    • A goal – Really hard to attain, but given the perfect circumstances, I could hit it. This goals is usually quite a bit out of my comfort zone.
    • B goal – This is a goal that would still be quite an accomplishment, but I am pretty certain I can hit it.
    • C goal – I completed the race in a decent time. Nothing to write home about, but it’s done.

How was your Christmas? Are you starting to think about 2017 goals?

Leave a Reply

