More than food…

Sometimes I am asked why my business is called The Joyful Nourished Life. So, today I want to share just a little snippet of why nourishment is about so much more than food.

LOGO2

There are many reasons why people have “lifestyle” diseases and why so many Americans are obese & unhealthy. Just one of those reasons is that we live in a culture where there is food on every corner. For people who are binge eaters or emotional eaters, food is their source of joy and comfort. So when the doctor says, you have Type 2 diabetes and you need to lose 50 pounds, it is devastating! Or when someone suggests that perhaps a certain drink (chemical) you are consuming, is causing your migraine headaches, you think… “I am NOT giving up my Diet Soda! I look forward to having that treat every afternoon.”

I try to share with others that nourishment is about SO much more than food. Joy can be found outside of food! Sure, God intended for us to enjoy food and be thankful for it (trust me… I definitely enjoy my cashew milk ice cream!), but He did not intend for us to be gluttons or for food to be the center of our universe.

So, the next time you are feeling down and want to reach for a pint of ice cream. Try these things instead.

  1. Ultimately, the joy of the Lord is My strength. Nehemiah 8:10  So, when in need of comfort, reach out to the Lord in His word and through prayer!
  2. Serve others! Sometimes, we get so self-focused and feeling badly about what is going on in OUR lives, that we turn a blind eye to the needs of others. Find a widow to visit, go to the nursing home and talk with the lonely residents, volunteer at a food bank, offer to babysit for a young mother…
  3. Go for a walk outside! Being outdoors automatically lifts my spirits. 20160317_065515.jpg
  4. Sing! I have always loved to sing. I remember singing very loudly with my sister and Dad in the car and at home. We do the same thing now that I have my own family. Anyone who sees us driving down the road probably thinks we’re CRAZY. 🙂
  5. Examine your surroundings. At my house, we try not to watch TV shows and movies that bring unwholesome thoughts/ideas into our home. This does not mean we turn a blind eye to what is going on in the world. It means we pray for our leaders even more and realize that God is always in control. Phil. 4:8 “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”

What things do you do to nourish your spirit?

 

Leave a Reply

