Global Running Day

Apparently it’s Global Running Day! So, I thought it would be fun to participate in a running survey.

blogpic35.png

Why do you run? 

At first I started running to spend time with my husband (boyfriend at the time). I couldn’t even run a mile at the time. Now, I run because I love it. I use the time to pray and think. I feel recharged and energized after a run. I also love racing to beat myself and MAYBE place in my age group on occasion. I’ve never been a competitive person, but I’m starting to lean a little bit that way!

I also love doing running events as a family.

20160312_072420.jpg

How do you plan to celebrate Global Running Day? 

Well, I ran 3.5 miles this morning as an easy day for my half-marathon training. Does that count?

How many miles have you run so far this year? Do you have a mileage goal for the year? 

So far, I have run 516 miles this year. I don’t have a mileage goal.

What big events do you have on the race calendar this year? 

I am doing a 10K with my daughter at the end of June and my husband and I are doing a half-marathon in August. No, I’m not crazy! I love running in the heat. All of my PRs have been set in hot weather.

Before I leave for a run, I must have…

Water and shoes!

Do you track your runs? If so, what do you use? 

I have a Garmin that my husband and I share. We rarely run at the same time unless the kids are at Grandma and Grandpa’s! I use running-log.com to keep track of my miles mainly so I can keep track of how many miles are on my shoes. I try to replace them every 500 miles or when my knees tell me that I need to!

Who is your favorite running partner? 

I actually prefer running on my own. However, now that my daughter is training for a 10K, I do enjoy doing relaxed runs with her! We have some of our best conversations then! When I race, I prefer to be on my own. When my husband and I do the half in August, we won’t actually run together.

What races have you run so far this year? 

We did a local 5K as a family, but that’s it so far! I ran with my 7 year old and my husband ran with our 9 year old. We’re hoping for another family race on the 4th of July!

20160312_094043-1 (1).jpg

If you had to give someone one piece of advice about running, what would it be? 

I will go with advice for running with kids. With my daughter, we take it at her pace. Don’t push it too hard. It’s supposed to be enjoyable. If you look at it that way, it can hopefully be a lifelong activity. If they think of it as a chore, they won’t enjoy it anymore!

Describe your relationship with running in one word: 

Invigorating

Do you enjoy running? 

Leave a Reply

