Are you listening?

I am very much a type A personality. I push myself in pretty much all areas of life. It doesn’t matter if I don’t feel well, I will just “suck it up” and do what I need to do. Quite frankly, there are times when you just need to do that. I am a mom and that doesn’t stop just because I am tired or don’t feel well. And let’s face it, a HUGE portion of running is mental. However, there are also times, when I need to slow down and listen to my body.

I probably should first explain that I usually run on the treadmill in the winter. I HATE the cold (read: I live in the wrong part of the country) and I will not run in the dark. So… I took about 3 weeks off from running because of treadmill issues and in those 3 weeks, I learned some things…

Concentrating on strength training for 3 weeks is really effective at building muscle.

I REALLY love running. I missed it terribly. There were some days when I honestly thought about going outside and running around my house. Yep, I have issues.

Even though I missed it terribly, now that my treadmill issues are fixed… I am running less than I was before. It feels good to mix in some cross training and strength workouts.  It also felt REALLY good to run again.

20160117_064816.jpg

Listening to our bodies… this is something that I ask my clients to do ALL the time. How do certain foods make you feel? Are you energized? Do you have a headache?  How’s your digestion? I’m pretty good at listening to my body with regards to food, but I’m a work in progress when it comes to listening to my body regarding exercise.

How about you? Do you listen to your body’s cues?

Leave a Reply

