A Day in the Life of a Homeschooling Health Coach

Sometimes I get the feeling that people have incorrect views on what homeschooling is like. Some think I stand up in front of my daughters and impart wonderful knowledge to them from 8-3 everyday. Some think I sit around and eat bon bons. Then, of course, many wonder, “What on earth is a health coach?” “I thought you were a Pharmacist?”

So, I thought it would be fun to share what a typical day is like for me.

5:50 am – Alarm goes off. I put Hunky Husband’s lunch in a cooler. I’m off to the basement for quiet time with God and a workout. Then it’s time to shower, fix breakfast, start a load of laundry, maybe put something in the crock pot, and call my awesome older friend whom I talk to briefly every morning.

8:15-8:30 – We start our school day. We begin our day with Bible study together. Then, I balance my time between the 2 girls. While I go over a new concept with one, the other is doing independent work. We work like this until it is time for “Gym time” and snack. When they are both working, I will work on planning for the next week or grade some of their papers. Then, together we finish up by tackling Science and Social Studies.

20151130_091025
We have been studying human anatomy – the skeletal system. So, we took some leftover cooked turkey bones from my Grandma’s at Thanksgiving for an experiment!
20151127_150307
The best thing about experimenting with recipes is having 2 sweet little girls who want to lick the beaters!

12:30 – Our school day is usually finished and I start preparing lunch.

1:30 – I try to accomplish a chore or two. Yesterday, I dusted and wrapped a few Christmas gifts.

2:00-4:15 – Client sessions, preparing for teaching Health Coach workshops, writing newsletters, paperwork, etc…

4:30 – 6:30 – Various activities like piano lessons and basketball practice

6:30-8:30 – Supper & family time. I make Hunky Husband’s lunch for the next day.

9:00 – Kids are in bed. I finish up any work I didn’t get to in the afternoon, check e-mail, etc…

10:00ish – Bedtime for Mama.

Leave a Reply

