Keepin’ it real

It occurred to me the other day when talking with a health coaching client how easy it is to think that others have it all together. We look at others and think:

Everything comes easy to them. They are perfectly patient. They never get angry. They have healthy, scrumptious dinners on the table every night as soon as their husband walks through the door. You could eat off of their floor – it’s so clean!

Let me be the first to tell you that this just simply isn’t true. Unfortunately in the world of social media, we only see the surface of people’s lives. And people, generally don’t post about having a terrible day or post pictures of their messy closets/kitchens/etc…

So, here’s my “Keepin’ it real” for today…

I worry about everything. Hunky husband says if I don’t have something to worry about, I will worry that I don’t have anything to worry about. This has led to physical symptoms like neck pain. I’m working on it.

I am not perfectly patient. It is only through prayer and God’s help that I don’t throw temper tantrums on some days.

Sometimes I make new recipes that no one likes. My feelings always get hurt when this happens because cooking is my “thing.” How silly is that? It’s just food.

We don’t have gourmet dinners every night. For example, we have bean tacos (one of the easiest and quickest meals) at least once a week.

I love dark chocolate, frozen bananas with my chocolate sauce, and So-Delicious dairy free ice cream (once in a while – it’s expensive!). I indulge in these things regularly.

Do you have any “Keepin’ it real” stories to share?

Leave a Reply

